Tax Sale Information

Annual Tax Sale

In order to participate in the annual delinquent tax sale as a tax buyer please read the following.

  • Refer to Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 35, beginning at 35 ILCS 200/21-190 (Article 21, Division 4).  The Illinois Compiled Statutes can be viewed at www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs.asp
  • Please be aware that when you purchase at the tax sale, you are purchasing taxes, not property.  Purchasing tax is a complex legal procedure.  It is advised that you read the above referenced Statutes and/or contact an attorney for assistance.
  • Register in writing 10 working days prior to tax sale with the County Treasurer’s Office.  Contact the Treasurer’s Office for the exact date. Registration form is available below.
  • Delinquent tax sale listings are published in The Greenville Advocate.
  • Tax sale is held at the end of the tax cycle. The 2020 tax sale was Tuesday February 8, 2022, at the County Treasurer’s Office. Click here for Important Tax Dates.
  • Subsequent taxes may be paid in the Collector’s Office one day after the second installment due date.

Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Treasurer’s Office at 618-664-0618.

Tax Buyer Registration Form click here

2019 Final Tax Sale List click here

 

Q: What is the date and time of your tax sale?

A: Tax sale for 2020 Property Taxes payable in 2021 will be held Tuesday February 8, 2022.  This date will fluctuate from tax year to tax year, but will be within 90 days of the 2nd installment
due date.

 

Q: How often do you hold tax sales?

A: The Tax sale is held one time per tax cycle.

 

Q: Can you send me a list of the parcels that will be available?

A: List are available for a $50 fee.  After payment is received we will send you the list.  You can email Colleen Camp at treasurer@bondcountyil.gov for more information.

 

Q: What is the bidding process?

A: The bid is for the 6 month interest rate. The bids start at 9% and goes down to 0%. The lowest bid is accepted.

 

Q: What form of payment do you accept?

A: Personal checks, business checks, cashier’s checks or cash will be accepted.  Taxes must be paid immediately after the close of the tax sale.

 

Q: What type of document is issued at the tax sale?

A: Tax sale certificates will be sent to the tax buyer about a week after the tax sale.  Certificates must be issued in the name of the winning buyer.

 

Q: What happens to the parcels that are not sold at the tax sale?

A: All unpaid taxes are sold at the annual tax sale. All taxes which are not purchased by tax buyers are sold to the Bond County Trustee, Joseph Meyer. Contact the Trustee’s Office for assignment purchases. 1-800-248-2850.

 

Q: Do you allow investors to participate in the tax sale without attending the sale via mail, telephone or FAX?

A: No, but this years tax sale will be RAMS 2 Auction.  In RAMS 2 every registered tax buyer places their bids on a flash drive.  On the tax sale date, the tax buyer bring the flash drive to
the Bond County Treasurer’s office for processing.

 

Q: May I send a representative to the sale to bid for me?

A: This years sale will not be live bidding.  If you as the registered bidder are not returning the flash drive to the office, please list the name of the person who will return the flash drive
on the registration form.

 

Q: If I win a bid does the county handle the foreclosure process?

A: The tax buyer is responsible to file all necessary paperwork to acquire a deed.  Please refer to the Statutes listed at the beginning of the questions and/or seek assistance from an attorney.

 

Q: Will all other liens be cleared from the property as a result of the tax sale?

A: No, the tax sale does not clear any liens from the property.

 

Q: Does your county hold a deed sale in addition to the tax sale?

A: See Sealed Bid Auction Information.