
SMALL CLAIMS COURT 
FORCIBLE ENTRY AND DETAINER 

 
I. GENERAL 
 
           Forcible Entry and Detainer‖ is a civil proceeding for restoring possession of property to the owner.  
Such cases are conducted under Article IX of the Illinois Code of Civil Procedures, found in Chapter 735 of 
the Illinois Compiled Statutes.  Copies of these statutes are available for review without charge in the Law 
Library at the Bond County Courthouse in Greenville. 
 
 Although deputy clerks in the Circuit Clerk’s office can answer general questions regarding forms 
and procedures, state law prohibits any court personnel from providing legal advice to any litigant.  No 
employee of the Circuit Clerk’s Office is allowed to give legal advice.  Anyone in need of such advice 
should consult an attorney. 
 
II FILING THE COMPLAINT 
 
 Before a complaint in forcible entry and detainer can be filed, the  plaintiff‖ (the property owner or 
landlord) must serve an eviction notice on the  defendant‖ (the tenant(s) or occupant(s) or real estate 
premises).  Different forms of notice and different notice times apply, depending upon the nature of the 
tenancy and upon the reason for seeking eviction.  It is the responsibility of the party seeking eviction to 
prepare the correct notice (scroll to page 4 to view 5-day notice form; pages 5&6 to see 10-day notice form; 
and pages 7&8  for 30-day notice forms) and to have the notice properly delivered to the tenant. 
 
 If the defendant does not pay the rent or move out within the period of time designated on the 
eviction notice, the plaintiff may proceed with filing the forcible entry and detainer complaint (scroll to page 
10 to see complaint form).  A filing fee of $75.00 for claims up to $15,000, or $100.00 for those over 
$15,000 but less than $50,000, and $130.00 for claims over $50,000 is required to file a complaint in 
forcible entry and detainer.  
 The complaint should state whether the suit seeks only possession or both possession and rent.  If a 
claim for rent is sought, the amount of rent alleged to be due must be carefully stated.  If the tenant fails to 
answer the suit and is held in default, the judge cannot award more in rent than is requested in the complaint 
without requiring additional notice of the increased amount to be served upon the tenant. 
 
 
III. SERVICE OF SUMMONS 
 
 After the complaint is filed, a summons is issued.  The defendant is given an appearance date of 7 to 
21 days to appear to admit or deny the claim.  The summons may be served by the Sheriff, a licensed private 
investigator or a private process server.  If the plaintiff wishes to have service of summons made by private 
process server, a written motion and proposed order should be filed at the same time as the complaint (scroll 
to page 13 to view Motion to Appoint Special Process Server form).  If a summons is to be served byt the 

Sheriff, it must be served by the Sheriffof the County where the defendant resides. 
 
 The case cannot go forward against a defendant until process has been served upon that defendant.  If 
process cannot be served because the defendant cannot be located or because the defendant is avoiding 
service, publication of service or posting of service may be used in place of personal service.  If service of 
process is made by publication or posting, then the judgment against any defendant served only by 
publication or posting will be for possession of the premises only and will not include a judgment for rent.  A 
court order allowing publication or posting for service of process is not needed.  
 


